Skip to content ↓

Board of Trustees

Our Trustees come from a wide variety of different backgrounds. Below you will find a short biography of each. Please click on the following link for details of appointments and attendance:
Board of Trustees' details 2020-21 and attendance records 2019-20

Trustee appointed by PFAT Members
Howard Gee (Chair)
Background:  Recently retired from full-time employment to set up a software consultancy business. Before that, 37 years’ employment at a major engineering company in Lincoln. Last assignment involved a worldwide project to harmonise Business Systems at 16 sites across seven countries.

Sponsor Trustee
Simon Richardson (Vice-Chair)
Background: Simon was born in Lincoln and attended the City School between 1985 and 1992. He went through the sixth form, studied A-Levels and graduated from the Institute of Design with a First Class BA (Hons) Degree. He also holds an MBA in Strategic Marketing and is a registered Chartered Marketer. After a short spell working as a Business Development Manager, Operations Director and then as Managing Consultant, he started his own business. The company, which is part of QSP, has developed into a range of companies involved in aviation, healthcare, construction, leisure and asset management. The business operates internationally and has a base in Africa employing more than 400 staff.

Sponsor Trustee
Frank Knowles
Background: Currently a self-employed Education Consultant and Inspector, undertaking Section 5 (Ofsted) and other inspections, quality assurance reading of inspection reports and supporting schools becoming academies. Previously one of Her Majesty’s Inspectors of Schools (HMI); Local Authority Senior Adviser; Deputy Head of a large inner city comprehensive school; Head of Department and Teacher of Mathematics.

Sponsor Trustee
Richard Partington (Churchill College, Cambridge)
Background: Senior Tutor, Senior Admissions Tutor and Director of Studies in History (Part II) at Churchill College, Cambridge. As Senior Tutor, he is responsible for the admission, education and welfare of students. Mr Partington is one of the University's most experienced Admissions Tutors, and chairs its policy committees on student selection and outreach. He passionately believes in facilitating social mobility through access to university.

Sponsor Trustee
Peter Houten
Background: Before retirement, Peter had a varied career in skills and education policy and delivery at local, regional and national level within the Department for Education (DfE) and its predecessor Departments.  This included periods in the North-West, Sheffield and London.  For five years before retiring, Peter was responsible for the expansion of the Academies programme at national level within DfE, overseeing the rapid growth in Academies from 2007 onward.

Sponsor Trustee
Jonathan Mackinder
Background: Jonathan is a solicitor working for Wilkin Chapman LLP in his home city of Lincoln, having graduated with a degree in Law from the University of Nottingham. Jonathan is a former student and Deputy Head Boy of The Priory Academy LSST, while his late father taught electronics at the school for 14 years.

Sponsor Trustee
Lesley Tyreman
Background: Lesley has been involved in primary education all her working life, first as a teacher, and then through 17 years as headteacher of two successful Lincolnshire schools (Scampton Village and Heckington).  She has been Chair of Heighington Millfield LGB since the academy joined the Trust in March 2018. Lesley first became a governor in 1992 and has been part of a governing body ever since, as teacher, headteacher and then community governor, joining the then governing body of Heighington Millfield School on her retirement in 2015.   Lesley brings to any governing body her skills in leading teams and a love of lifelong learning. 

Trustee appointed by PFAT Members
Ian Jones (Chief Executive Officer of the Priory Federation of Academies)
Background: Priory Federation CEO since March 2012; Priory Academy LSST Headmaster 2008-2016; City of Lincoln Community College Headmaster 2003-2008.